top of page

From Yinzer Country to SoCal: A Mommy & Me Roadtrip

I’ve been a bit busy this past month.

I drove across the country with my mom to move in with my boyfriend, Jack, in Southern California. So, I don’t have a story about a super star for you this month, but I have a few things to share about my journey across the U.S. and a big thank you to my number one girl, Mama Clayton.

Stop 1: Indianapolis, IN- One Sexy Steak

The famous St. Elmo Steak House shrimp cocktail is a quick cure for sinus pressure and its 28-ounce porterhouse steak (even when split between two people) will keep you full for a day and a half. But, it’s worth every bite.

Stop 2: St. Louis, MO- Beer, Wrestling and a Really Big Arch

We were first in line for the 11:30 a.m. Anheuser-Busch Brewery tour. From the

Clydesdale horses to the warm smell of yeast in the streets, my mom and I kind of got lost in the little world of Budweiser. It felt like we were walking through the streets of a college town, especially when it ended with a pint of beer in our hands.

We happened to be in St. Louis during the NCAA wrestling championships. I might not look the part, but I’m a huge wrestling fan. Watching eight colorful mats with jam-packed wrestling action was probably one of my favorite moments of the trip.

Oh yeah, and we made a stop at the Gateway Arch. I’m not sure how people get pictures of it. It’s not easy to fit the whole thing.

Stop 3: Tulsa, OK- Happy St. Patrick’s Day and Happy People

We went to a new restaurant right outside of the St. Patrick’s Day craziness downtown called Lefty’s. The thing we remember most about Tulsa were the people. We met a very drunk architect, a tipsy traveler downing Sambuca shots and a talkative Uber driver that became my mom’s best friend.

Tulsa, OK

Stop 4: Santa Fe, NM- Chili Peppers & Pricy Ponchos

We weren’t too sure what to expect from Santa Fe. With the southwestern vibes, hanging chili peppers and adobe architecture, my mom was in love. We spent the day walking around popping in and out of boutiques. We told all the sales people we were “just looking!” at clothes, art, knick-knacks… and their $500-$1,000 price tags.

Stop 5: Sedona- Red Rocks & Starry Skies

No matter where we stood or whatever angle we took a picture, we could not capture the beauty of the red rock mountains in Sedona. When the sun went down, the night sky was the clearest I had ever seen. It felt like we were in this beautiful fantasyland and all we could do was stare.

We also saw a group of little kids doing yoga up on one of the red rock trails early one morning. That was the cross-country trip’s “Most Adorable Moment.”

Stop 6: Grand Canyon- Heart Attacks & Disbelief

We were driving and driving and then all of the sudden there’s just this huge hole in the ground. It’s unbelievable. As I inched towards the edge to see what it’s like to look down, my mom had a full-on panic attack. Other people climbed and scaled down edges to get the perfect picture, which I admit, was very nerve-racking. This was about as close as I was allowed to get to the edge… (It’s okay, Mom. I got to see it.)

Stop 7: Glendale- Food, Friends & Lucky Charms

My childhood friend, Alina, is in dental school at Midwestern University in Glendale, AZ. Her cute, two-bedroom apartment was the perfect last stop before our final destination. We had dinner and drinks while we caught up with her new life in Glendale. She had a box of Lucky Charms sitting next to my bed as a sweet reminder and small joke between the two of us. In high school, we loved a big bowl of late night Lucky Charms.

Final Stop: Carlsbad- A New Home & A Hard Goodbye

Mom stayed four days to help me settle in my new home. We went on morning bike rides up and down the coast while taking in the salty Pacific breeze. One night we ate tacos and did beer tasting around the pool of her hotel while listening to live music and watched the sun set over the ocean.

Then she left. I made Jack take me to see Beauty and the Beast on the way home from the airport because who could cry watching Emma Watson play Belle?

It is one thing to drive across America and experience all its beautiful differences… the scenery, the people and the ways of life. I got to share the experience with my mom, which made each stop feel a little bit like home.

Thank you, Mom.

Thank you for instilling in me the free and hopeful spirit of a little kid. Thank you for paying for my gas across the country. Thank you for raising me to be a kind and brave human being.

Follow Me
Tell Me Your Story

This blog features stories about people to remind you that everyone has a pretty amazing story. You just have to find the right way to tell it.

 

If you or someone you know would like to share a story with me, please contact me at taylorclayton04@gmail.com

Join my mailing list

Never miss an update

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
bottom of page